Community Leadership Award 2016


The recipient of the award is a career Police Officer with 40 years of service having held numerous senior positions across a broad range of portfolios within the QPS.

He is the recipient of the Australian Fulbright Professional Scholarship, Australian Police Medal, National Emergency Medal, National Police Service Medal, National Medal, Commissioner’s Award for Meritorious Service, Queensland Police Service Medal and the 2010-2011 Queensland Flood and Cyclone Citation.

He has been instrumental in leading the QPS through the Renewal Program and the Police and Community Safety Review, the most significant period of reform since the Fitzgerald era.

His reforms have empowered the QPS to redefine its service delivery model, and therefore better meet the needs of the community through a heightened emphasis on front line policing.

He has embraced communities and built positive relationships with the muslim society. He has attended various multifaith events including home iftars and most recently hosting the third QPS Iftar dinner for the muslim community during this holy month of Ramadan.

The recipient of this award is the 19th Commissioner of the Queensland Police Service taking up this position on 1 November 2012.

This year I am honoured to present the award for Community Leadership to Commissioner Ian Stewart.


Iftar Message from Hon Glen Elmes, Multicultural Minister

“I would like to extend, on this special special occasion, my greetings to all Muslims during the holy month of Ramadan. I was honoured to have been invited by the Queensland Intercultural Society to sponsor the first Newman Government’s Iftar Dinner at Parliament House and grateful for the opportunity to participate in the breaking of the daily fast. Queensland […]